Brain Clutter

April 25, 2007

Recommended Ruby on Rails books/tutorials?

Filed under: books, ruby on rails, tutorials, web — brainclutter @ 7:56 am

I flew down to visit my friend in Toronto a year ago and received a crash course in Ruby on Rails. I left feeling moderately confident that I had a good base of knowledge to expand from. However, once I got home I didn’t touch the sample files he helped me create, and even though I read the Pragmatic Programmer’s Agile Web Development with Rails (version 1), I didn’t put any of it into practice.

So here I am, a year later, wanting to get back into things. Can anyone recommend a good RoR book for beginners? If not a book, how about some online tutorials? Pretend I know absolutely nothing about Rails, which isn’t a far stretch after so long away from it.

I found the Pragmatic book to be good at the beginning but once I got half-way through, things were getting advanced without enough explanation. Plus, that book only dealt with the creation of a shopping cart, which isn’t something I plan on doing right away. I know it dealt with many concepts you’d use in any Rails app, but I still felt overwhelmed at times.

Some simple things I’d like to be able to do:

  • Create a blog with some advanced features
  • Create a photo gallery or article gallery (like a portfolio)
  • Create a dynamic web-page where a client can log in to update content (pictures, text, css, etc.)

I suppose simple procedures with MySQL and PHPmyAdmin would be beneficial as well since I skipped most of my PHP classes in college! 😉

EDIT:  I realize I could read everything linked from ror.org, but I’m hoping for your recommended favorite articles/books.  Also, I’m hoping for some more recent material because a lot of the articles linked from ror.org are using older versions of Rails.  I don’t really want to learn out-of-date, unsupported techniques.

2 Comments »

  1. This is a pretty good list of books: http://www.rubyonrails.org/books

    And the 3 at the bottom are targeted at beginners; I have no idea how good they are tho =)

    really rails is quite simple though, with just the Agile book you have you should likely be able to get a blog up; its easier to learn by doing with rails and then just check api.rubyonrails.org or google if you get stuck on a particular aspect.

    If you get Rails installed on your computer, can get it setup so you can make some kind of page and just start playing with it you’ll find its not very hard at all; or you can use this as an excuse to fly down here again this summer 😉

    Comment by Jamie Conlon — April 26, 2007 @ 1:16 pm

  2. Lol, yeah… maybe on May 5th so we can check out the Warhammer demo together. Unfortunately, the wife could only be fooled by that excuse for a trip to Toronto once… 😛

    The main factor here is motivation, and I’m easier to motivate when things I dislike, or am not very good at (like programming), are made simpler.

    Comment by brainclutter — April 26, 2007 @ 1:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

